FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
April 3, 2019
|Contact: Judy Morris
Apply for 2019 Property Tax Reduction / Veteran’s Property Tax Reduction / Property Tax Deferral by April 15
(Boise, ID) – The Ada County Assessor’s Office would like to remind residents of the Monday, April 15, 2019 deadline to apply for enrollment in the 2019 State of Idaho Property Tax Reduction, Veteran’s Property Tax Reduction Benefit, and Property Tax Deferral programs. Residents are encouraged to submit applications as early as possible before the deadline.
PROPERTY TAX REDUCTION (CIRCUIT BREAKER) PROGRAM:
Through the Property Tax Reduction Program, qualified property owners can reduce their annual property tax bill by up to $1,320. The State of Idaho reimburses Ada County for the reduction in property taxes, up to the claimant’s qualifying benefit amount, on their home and up to one acre of land. Eligibility for the Property Tax Reduction Program requires that a property owner be eligible for State of Idaho Homestead (Homeowner’s) Exemption, and that they meet one or more of the following qualifications as of January 1, 2019:
- Age 65 or older
- Widow/Widower of any age
- Fatherless or motherless child under 18 years of age
- Former prisoner of war/hostage
- Disabled as recognized by the Social Security Administration, Railroad Retirement Board or Federal Civil Service, or Public Employee Retirement System
- Veteran with a 10% or more service-connected disability or receiving a pension from Veteran’s Affairs (VA) for non-service-connected disability
Applicants must also have a 2018 net income of $30,450 or less after deducting non-reimbursed medical expenses. (Other deductions may include funeral expenses, business/farm losses, early banking withdrawal penalties and/or alimony paid. Applicants must provide documentation proving their wages and all sources of income.)
The Ada County Assessor’s Office recently mailed Property Tax Reduction applications to residents who qualified for the program last year. Residents who would like to apply, or who requested an application but have not yet received it, should contact the Assessor’s Office at (208) 287-7200.
FREE APPLICATION ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE
There is no cost to apply for the 2019 Property Tax Reduction Program, and residents should not work with someone who tries to charge an application fee. Residents who need one-on-one assistance to complete the application are encouraged to visit locations where Assessor’s Office employees will be offering assistance free of charge. Please see schedule below for dates and locations.
Residents can also receive assistance at the Ada County Assessor’s Office, located at 190 E. Front Street, Suite 107, directly east of the Ada County Courthouse. Applications for this program must be submitted no later than April 15, 2019.
|2018 Property Tax Reduction Program (Circuit Breaker) Application Assistance Schedule – Remaining Dates:|
|Boise Senior Center (208-345-9921)
690 Robbins Road, Boise, ID 83702
Every Tuesday through April 9, 9am-12pm
Garden City Public Library (208-472-2941) **New location
6015 N. Glenwood St., Garden City, ID 83714
April 5, 9:30am – 12pm
|Meridian DMV (208-287-7200) **New location
1769 N Lakes Pl. #100, Meridian, ID 83646
Every Wednesday through April 10, 9am-12pm
100% Service-Connected Disabled Veterans Property Tax Benefit:
New for 2019 – The Veteran’s Property Tax Reduction Benefit reduces property taxes for qualified 100% service-connected disabled veterans. If you qualify, the property taxes on your home and up to one acre of land may be reduced by as much as $1,320. The program does not have an income limit. Once granted, a surviving spouse can use this benefit, but it isn’t transferable to a new property after the death of the qualifying veteran.
You may qualify for the Veterans Property Tax Reduction in 2019 if you:
- Were recognized as 100% service-connected disabled by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs as of January 1, 2019, and
- Owned and occupy the home in Idaho as your primary residence before April 15, 2019
- The property must have a current homeowner’s exemption
- The home can be a mobile home
Note: This benefit is not automatically renewed. You must apply and qualify each year. Residents can receive assistance at the Ada County Assessor’s Office, located at 190 E. Front Street, Suite 107, directly east of the Ada County Courthouse. Applications for this program must be submitted no later than April 15, 2019.
PROPERTY TAX DEFERRAL PROGRAM:
The Property Tax Deferral Program offers residents a way to defer property taxes on their home and up to one acre of land. These deferred taxes must eventually be repaid to the State of Idaho, with 6% interest. To qualify, you must meet the eligibility requirements of the Property Tax Reduction (“Circuit Breaker”) Program and have a 2018 income of $44,510 or less. The deferred property taxes and interest must be repaid when:
- Any part of the property is sold or the title is transferred
- The qualified claimant, or the last qualified claimant dies
- The property no longer qualifies for the Homestead Exemption (meaning it’s no longer the primary residence)
- The Idaho State Tax Commission determines that the property tax deferral was granted to an individual who isn’t a qualified claimant, or granted for property that does not qualify
Residents interested in applying for the 2019 Property Tax Deferral Program must submit an application with notarized signatures no later than April 15, 2019.
The 2019 Homestead (“Homeowner’s”) Exemption program exempts 50% of a property’s value, up to a maximum of $100,000 for the home and up to one acre of land. To qualify, applicants must apply to the Ada County Assessor, indicating that the dwelling is owner-occupied prior to the April 15th occupancy deadline. Applications must be postmarked or received in the office by April 15, 2019. There are no income or age restrictions to qualify for this program; however, the exemption can only be claimed on a primary residence.
Property owners can apply for the Homestead (“Homeowner’s”) Exemption online via the Ada County Assessor’s website at https://adacounty.id.gov/Assessor, or by contacting the Assessor’s Office at (208) 287-7200.
For more information about each of these programs, call (208) 287-7200, or visit the Ada County Assessor’s Office at 190 E. Front Street, Suite 107 – directly east of the Courthouse, on the ground floor of the Civic Plaza Apartment Complex.