ABOUT THE HOMEOWNERS EXEMPTION
Each owner-occupied primary residence (house or manufactured home) and up to one acre of land is eligible for a homeowner’s exemption. To qualify, you must own and occupy your home before April 15th; you must file an application with our office by April 17 th for the 2018 tax year. Once you apply and qualify for this exemption, you only have to reapply if you move or if the ownership changes.
This exemption allows 50% percent of the value of your home including up to one acre of land to be exempted, or up to $100,000 worth of exemption; whichever is less.
To qualify, applicants must own, occupy and use the dwelling as their primary residence as of January 1 but before April 15. Although there are no income or age restrictions to qualify for the Homeowner’s Exemption, taxpayers can qualify for an exemption on only one home. The statute governing qualifications for the Homeowner’s Exemption is 63-602G.
The exemption will be extended to all newly constructed and occupied residential structures, including new manufactured housing, if the owner applies for and meets the requirements for such exemption within thirty (30) days of notification of appraisal by the assessor, according to Statute 63-317.
HOW DOES ONE APPLY?
You must complete an application for a Homeowner’s Exemption. You can get an application by emailing us or calling our office at (208) 287-7200. A form can also be downloaded from our Documents and Forms page or try our online Homeowner’s Exemption application.
The online application requires your parcel number; to locate this information use our Property Search link. Your Idaho driver’s license is used to validate your identity in lieu of a signature, if you do not have an Idaho Driver’s License you must print and sign the application and scan and email, fax or mail your application to the assessor’s office. Digital signatures cannot be accepted.
If you file via email a receipt will automatically be sent upon completion of our validation process; all other delivery methods have receipts available upon request. ***** RECEIPTS ARE NOT PROOF THAT YOUR APPLICATION HAS BEEN APPROVED.
WHAT HAPPENS AFTER MY APPLICATION IS APPROVED?
When the application is approved, the exemption is permanent as long as one owns and occupies the property. If the property is sold, the new owner must file an application with the assessor’s office.
Notices of approval are not sent to homeowners; to verify that your exemption has been processed please review your annual assessment notice. If you believe there is an error pertaining to your exemption contact our office at (208) 287-7200.
WHAT IS THE APPLICATION DEADLINE?
The statutory deadline for filing an application for Homeowner’s Exemption is April 15 th of that current year.
For the 2018 year, ONLY the Ada County Assessor’s Office has extended the application deadline to April 17th at 5 p.m. in conjunction with the Property Tax Reduction Program.
WHAT ELSE DO I NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE HOMEOWNER’S EXEMPTION?
Many taxpayers wait until the last minute to apply for these exemptions. Others fail to qualify because they misunderstand the law’s guidelines and deadlines.
Applying now provides assurance that all supporting documentation was obtained in time. We encourage taxpayers to request receipts for verification that their application was received timely.