OBTAINING A CONCEALED WEAPON LICENSE
- Concealed Weapon applications are obtained at the Ada County offices at 400 N. Benjamin Lane, Suite 101, in Boise (located with Driver’s License Office – Door #1).
- You need to bring in proof of firearms training when you submit the application according to subsection 9 on Idaho’s Concealed Weapons law.
- You must be fingerprinted when you apply.
The Concealed Weapons License office will be closed on these holidays:
New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King, Jr. Day/Idaho Human Rights Day, Presidents’ Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day.
(For details of the Idaho Concealed Weapon laws, Section 18-3302 A-C).
Concealed Weapon Course
Proof of firearms training is required in order to get a concealed weapon license. The Concealed Weapon Course offered by the Sheriff’s Office meets the training requirement for the standard concealed weapon license only. There is no cost for the class. No weapons are needed and there is no handling of weapons during the class. Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org with your name and contact information to sign up for the next available class.
All classes will be from 6-9 PM at the ACSO Training Room A, located at 7180 Barrister Drive in Boise
February 12, 2019
April 16, 2019
June 18, 2019
August 13, 2019
October 08, 2019
December 10, 2019
Processing of the Concealed Weapons Application and background check takes up to 90 days.
- A new application for a concealed weapons license is $56.10.
- A renewal application for a concealed weapons license is $37.85.
Licenses are valid for five years. To renew your license, you must come in up to 90 days prior to the expiration date. The late fee on a renewal application is an additional $10 for any license expired over 90 days. If a license is expired past 180 days, the applicant will have to start over again.
New applications for retired law enforcement officers are $22.85. Renewal applications are $14.85.
States With Reciprocal Agreements With Idaho
It is your responsibility to contact the States you are going to be traveling in to be sure you can carry a concealed weapon there. For the most current information, check Idaho State Police’s website.
Retired Law Enforcement License Requirements
If you are a retired law enforcement officer and want to qualify for the retired law enforcement conceal carry permit for all 50 states, please check out HR 218/LEOSA language to determine qualifying criteria.
After reviewing the retired law enforcement section of HR 218/LEOSA, and you believe you qualify, please send your name and phone number to the following email address – email@example.com – and we will send you the information to schedule your qualification.