Can creditors garnish my WAGES?

Yes, but only within certain limits. A creditor can require your employer to garnish part of your wages to pay a judgment, but the creditor **can only take EITHER:**

25% of your "disposable earnings" (your pay remaining after only those withholdings required by law are taken out). OR

the part of your wages that exceeds 30 times the current Federal minimum wage (\$7.25 per hour as of 2011; see chart below) ...whichever figure lets you keep more. See Idaho Code (I.C.) Section 11-206 and 207 and 29 U.S. Code Section 206(a)(1).

Exemptions based upon \$7.25 min wage:

If your paycheck is paid weekly	the amount garnished will be
less than \$217.50	NONE
\$217.50 - \$290	Amount above \$217.50
\$290 or more	Up to 25%
paid bi-weekly	amount garnished
less than \$435	NONE
\$435 - \$580	Amount above \$435
\$580 or more	Up to 25%

paid semi-monthly	amount garnished
less than \$471.25	NONE
\$471.25 - \$628.34	Amount above \$471.25
\$628.34 or more	Up to 25%
paid monthly	amount garnished
paid monthly less than \$942.50	amount garnished NONE
, ,	5

• Up to \$2,500 per year in earned, but unpaid, wages cannot be garnished.

I.C. 11-605(11)

Also, you cannot be fired just for having wages garnished. *I.C. 28-45-105*

Can a creditor take my HOME?

Idaho's homestead exemption can prevent the forced sale of your house or mobile home. WARNING! this exemption only applies to

unsecured debts, not to foreclosures! It protects the house and land's **net value up to** \$175,000 ("net value" is the property's market value minus all liens and mortgages).

The law protects the house where you reside or intend to reside, plus surrounding land and related structures like barns or sheds.

• Manufactured homes are protected, whether or not you own the lot.

• **Unimproved land** is protected if you intend to live on it, build your primary house on it or put your mobile home on it.

• If you sell your home, the proceeds are exempt for up to one year *if you are going to use them to buy another home.*

Insurance proceeds paid to cover damage to a homestead are also protected.

I.C. 55-1001,1003, 1008 What do I have to do to claim the homestead exemption?

Generally, your primary residence is automatically protected and you do not have to act to protect your home. However, be aware of some **important exceptions**:

If you are absent from a property for six months, it will be presumed to be abandoned. If you know that you will not be at your home for six months or more, you should file a **Declaration of Non-abandonment*** with the county recorder to preserve the property as your homestead.

If you do not yet live in the home or on the land that you want to protect, you must file a **Declaration of Homestead**.* Also, if you own other property in which you *do* reside or have claimed a homestead in the past, you must file a **Declaration of Abandonment*** of *that* property so the creditors know which home or land you plan to protect as your homestead. *I.C. 55-1004*

*All of these **Declarations** should be filed with the County Recorder in the county where the land is located.

WARNING! The homestead Exemption does NOT exempt:

Debts secured by a mechanic's, laborers, or vendor's lien upon the homestead.

Property that receives a lien or judgment against it *before* it qualifies as your homestead.

Debts secured on your homestead such as Deeds of Trust, Mortgages, etc. or debts secured on property *before* it qualifies as your homestead. *I.C. 55-1005*

Can a creditor take my GOVERNMENT BENEFITS?

Government entitlements, like Social Security, Veterans, and public assistance benefits are generally exempt from garnishment but CAN be garnished for child or spousal support orders. If your bank or credit union receives a garnishment order for money in your account, they must determine if within the previous two months any exempt federal benefits have been electronically deposited into your account. If so, the bank must calculate the sum of all exempt benefits, and notify you. If your account contains a protected amount, the financial institution cannot freeze, or otherwise restrict your access to that amount; you must be provided the same degree of access to the account as you had before the bank received the garnishment order. Note, however, that garnishment orders from the federal government (e.g., for taxes or federally guaranteed student loans), or state child support enforcement agencies are not covered by this rule. 31 C.F.R.§§212.1 to 212.12

What happens after a Judgment is issued against me?

To collect on a judgment a creditor must get a "Writ of Execution" which directs the Sheriff to seize a debtor's money, property, or real estate. Usually, **the creditor must collect within ten years** of the judgment or forfeit their award. However, they may renew the judgment for additional ten year periods in some cases.

When the creditor wants to take your assets or income to pay a debt, the sheriff or the bank will serve or mail you copies of the **Writ of Execution**, a Notice of Garnishment, or a Notice if Property or Money has been seized, an Exemption List, the instructions for asserting a claim of exemption and the **Claim of Exemption Form** itself.

The Sheriff should provide Spanish translations of the notice and instructions if you need them.

Show a creditor that your funds are exempt from collection with the <u>Claim of Exemption</u> Form.

Fill out the Form and deliver it to the Sheriff's office **within 14 days** of the service/delivery of the notice that property or money has been seized. If 14 days have already passed, you should fill out the Claim of Exemption Form anyway and deliver it to the sheriff. You may have to go to the court for help to recover exempt property or money after 14 days have passed.

After you deliver the complete Claim of Exemption Form, the Sheriff has **one business day** to give a copy to the creditor. The creditor can accept or contest your Claim of Exemption.

To contest your Claim, the creditor must file a motion to the court within **five days**. The court will then schedule a hearing to determine if your Claim is valid. You will receive a copy of the creditor's motion, and notice of the hearing date and time. You must attend the hearing and testify or provide evidence that the property or money is exempt. *If the creditor contests your Claim of Exemption, talk to an attorney immediately.*

If the creditor accepts your claim, or if they don't file a motion to contest it within five days, the Sheriff will return the seized exempt money or property to you. You should not be responsible for any collection costs.

WARNING! If you file a Claim of Exemption without reasonable belief and the creditor contests it, you may have to pay the creditor's attorney fees and court costs. Likewise, if the creditor files a frivolous motion to contest your Claim and loses at court, the creditor may have to pay your attorney fees and costs.

Exemptions & their Statutory Basis

Exemptions & their Stati	utory Basis
Type of	Idaho or US
Exempt Money / Property	Statutes
Alimony, Support, Maintenance* (Money or Personal Property)	.I.C. 11-604(1)(b)
Annuity Contract Payments	I.C. 41-1836
Bodily Injury & Wrongful Death A	
	I.C. 11-604(1)(c)
Burial Plots	I.C. 11-603(1)
Child Support Payments*	I.C. 11-604(1)(b)
Disability or Illness Benefits*	I.C. 11-604(1)(a)
Food & Water (one year's worth, fo	
and dependents, including shelving	and containers).
	I.C. 11-605(4)
Firearm (1) up to \$1,500 value	
Health Aids	
Homestead (House, Manufactured	
Structures)	I.C. 55-1008
Jewelry up to \$1000 value (Wedding rings, watches, etc.) †	I.C. 11-605(2)
Life Insurance Benefits Payable to Spouse/Dependent* Life insurance proceeds Group Insurance benefits Supplemental Disability Benefits Dividends, Interest, Loan Value and Value of Life Insurance Contract	I.C. 41-1833 I.C. 41-1835 I.C. 41-1834 I Cash Surrender
Medical or Hospital Benefits	I.C. 11-603(5)
Medical Savings Accounts	
Military Benefits Retirement Benefits	. 10 U.S.C. 1440
Motor Vehicle (1) up to \$10,0000 (car, truck, motorcycle) †	I.C. 11-605(3)
Pensions (annuities, retirement/ dis benefits and/or allowances and simi employee benefit plans)	sability/death ilar rights under I.C. 11-604A
Personal Property up to \$7500. N worth over \$1,000 † I.C. Appliances - washers, dryers, refrig Furniture - sofas, beds, tables Personal items - musical instrumer	. 11-605(1)(a)-(c) gerators

clothes; pets; family portraits and heirlooms

Type of Exempt Money / Property	Idaho or US Statutes	
Other Property (misc.) I.C. 11-605(10) \$1,500 in personal property is exempt. † Example: if a single debtor owns a \$11,000 car, she can use the \$10,000 motor vehicle exemption + \$1,500 Other Property exemption to protect the car in full.		
Public Assistance TAFI - Temporary Assistance to Fa AABD - Aid to Aged, Blind & Disabl County Assistance Payments	milies in Idaho	
Public Employees Benefits Federal, state, local government ret		
Retirement Benefits, Pension Fur IRAs and 401k accounts		
Social Security Retirement, SSDI I.C. 11-603(3), 42 U.S.C. 1383(, SSI d) & U.S.C. § 407	
Tax Credits: Federal Earned Inco		
Tools of Trade: Professional Books equipment & Implements up to \$10 , used for employment may be exem	000. A computer pt	
Unemployment Benefits		
Veterans Benefits and Insurance		
Wages or Salary (See chart on oth I.C. 11-207 & 1 Plus, up to \$2,500 per year in earn wages	5 U.S.C. 1673(a) ed, but unpaid	
Worker's Compensation	I.C. 72-802	
* IF reasonably necessary for family		
† The exemption limit can be doubl couple if both persons are liable for		
Idaho Code (I.C.) sections can be http://www.legislature.idaho.go IDStatutesTOC.htm	v/idstat/TOC/	

Idaho Legal Aid Services	
Local Offices	
Boise 1447 S. Tyrell Lane	
Coeur d'Alene610 W Hubbard, # 219	
Idaho Falls482 Constitution Way, # 101	
Lewiston	
Nampa	
Pocatello 109 N. Arthur Ave., #302	
Twin Falls496 Shoup Ave West, Ste G	
Statewide Telephone Number	
208-746-7541	
For TRS Dial 7-1-1	
Idaho Rental Assistance & Properties:	
1-877-428-8844 www.housingidaho.com	

Looking for more information?

Visit <u>www.idaholegalaid.org</u> to find more free forms and information about consumer, debt and collections issues. Execution & Garnishment of Judgments: Protecting Exempt Wages, Property & Benefits from Creditors

Read this handout to understand:
What happens when a creditor sues me to collect a debt?
Can they garnish my wages?
Can they take my home?
Can they take my benefits?
How can I protect my rights?

If a creditor sues you over a debt and gets a judgment (a court order), they must follow a legal process to get payment from you. Some of your wages, benefits or property may be protected (exempt) from collection. However, to claim exemptions, you must follow a legal process too. This handout will help you understand **how to claim exemptions.**

The advice in this handout is very general and there might be special factors in your case. If you have legal questions, contact an attorney. If you cannot afford an attorney, contact the **Idaho Legal Aid Services** office nearest you using one of the phone numbers on the back of this handout. Also, visit us on the web at: <u>www.idaholegalaid.org</u>

Revised 5/15/2020