Ada County Seal

Property Tax Reduction/Deferral Programs Deadline is April 17th! - Ada County

(Please see https://adacounty.id.gov for the latest version of this information)

Home > News > Property Tax Reduction/Deferral Programs Deadline is April 17th!

Property Tax Reduction/Deferral Programs Deadline is April 17th!

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 3, 2018

Contact: Kate McGwire
Public Information Officer
208-287-7008

 

Apply for 2018 Property Tax Reduction/Deferral by April 17
 

(Boise, ID) – The Ada County Assessor’s Office is now accepting applications for enrollment in the 2018 State of Idaho Property Tax Reduction and Property Tax Deferral programs.  Residents are encouraged to submit applications as early as possible, but no later than the Tuesday, April 17, 2018 deadline

PROPERTY TAX REDUCTION (CIRCUIT BREAKER) PROGRAM:

Through the Property Tax Reduction Program, qualified property owners can reduce their annual property tax bill by up to $1,320.  The State of Idaho reimburses Ada County for the reduction in property taxes, up to the claimant’s qualifying benefit amount, on their home and up to one acre of land.  Eligibility for the Property Tax Reduction Program requires that a property owner be eligible for State of Idaho Homestead (Homeowner’s) Exemption, and that they meet one or more of the following qualifications as of January 1, 2018:

  • Age 65 or older
  • Widow/Widower of any age
  • Blind
  • Fatherless or motherless child under 18 years of age
  • Former prisoner of war/hostage
  • Disabled as recognized by the Social Security Administration, Railroad Retirement Board or Federal Civil Service, or Public Employee Retirement System
  • Veteran with a 10% or more service-connected disability or receiving a pension from Veteran’s Affairs (VA) for non-service-connected disability
  • Additionally, applicants must have a 2017 net income of $30,050 or less after deducting non-reimbursed medical expenses.  (Other deductions may include funeral expenses, business/farm losses, early banking withdrawal penalties and/or alimony paid.  Applicants must provide documentation proving their wages and all sources of income.)

The Ada County Assessor’s Office recently mailed Property Tax Reduction applications to residents who qualified for the program last year.  Residents who would like to apply, or who requested an application but have not yet received it, should contact the Assessor’s office at (208) 287-7200. 

FREE Application Assistance IS AVAILABLE

There is no cost to apply for the 2018 Property Tax Reduction Program, and residents should not work with someone who tries to charge an application fee. Residents who need one-one assistance to complete the application are encourage to visit locations where the Assessor's Office employees will be offering assistance free of charge. Residents can also receive assistance at the Ada County Assessor's Office located at 190 E. Front Street, Suite 107, directly east of the Ada County Courthouse. Applications must be submitted by April 17, 2018. 

Application Assistance Schedule

Boise Senior Center  (345-9921)

690 Robbins Road, Boise, ID 83702

Every Tuesday: Feb. 6th  – April 10th, 9am-12pm

 

Meridian City Hall

33 E. Broadway Ave. 2nd Floor, Room 202,

Meridian, ID 83642

Every Wednesday: Feb. 7th – April 11th  9am-12pm

 

Kuna Senior Center  (922-9714)

299 Avenue B, Kuna, ID 83634      

February 9th, March 9th, April 2nd

9:00am-12:00pm

Star Senior Center  (286-7943)

102 Main St., Star, ID 83669         

March 30th  9:00am-12pm

 

Garden City Senior Center  (336-8122)

3858 Reed St., Garden City, ID 83714         

March 16th & April 6th – 9am – 12pm

 

 

 

PROPERTY TAX DEFERRAL PROGRAM:

The Property Tax Deferral Program offers residents a way to defer property taxes on their home and up to one acre of land.  These deferred taxes must eventually be repaid to the State of Idaho, with 6% interest.  To qualify, you must meet the eligibility requirements of the Property Tax Reduction (Circuit Breaker) Program and have a 2017 income of $43,636 or less.  The deferred property taxes and interest must be repaid when:

· Any part of the property is sold or the title is transferred

· The qualified claimant, or the last qualified claimant dies

· The property no longer qualifies for the Homestead Exemption (meaning it’s no longer the primary residence)

· The Idaho State Tax Commission determines that the property tax deferral was granted to an individual who isn’t a qualified claimant, or granted for property that does not qualify

Residents interested in applying for the 2018 Property Tax Deferral Program must submit an application with notarized signatures by April 17, 2018

 

HOMESTEAD/HOMEOWNER’S EXEMPTION:

The 2018 Homestead (Homeowner’s) Exemption program exempts 50% of a property’s value, up to a maximum of $100,000 for the home and up to one acre of land.  To qualify, applicants must apply to the Ada County Assessor, indicating that the dwelling is owner-occupied prior to the April 15th occupancy deadline.  Applications must be postmarked or received in the office by April 17, 2018.  There are no income or age restrictions to qualify for this program, however, the exemption can only be claimed on a primary residence.

Property owners can apply for the Homestead/Homeowner’s Exemption online via the Ada County Assessor’s website at https://adacounty.id.gov/Assessor, or by contacting the Assessor’s Office at (208) 287-7200.

For more information about each of these programs, call (208) 287-7200, or visit the Ada County Assessor’s Office at 190 E. Front Street, Suite 107 – directly east of the Courthouse, on the ground floor of the Civic Plaza Apartment Complex.