
 
 
 

 
 
 

SMALL CLAIMS  
INFORMATION 

 
 
 
 

This information is provided to you 
to give you guidance on the filing of a 
Small Claims case.  You can file a claim 
in Small Claims Court to collect on a debt 
or to obtain property owned by you.  Some 
cases, though, are not appropriate for 
Small Claims Court because certain laws 
require that your case be brought in the 
magistrate or district court.  You always 
have the right to file a claim in Small 
Claims as long as the dispute does not 
exceed $5,000.00.  Once you make the 

decision to file an action in Small Claims 
your filing fee and service of process fee 
are non refundable. 
 

LEGAL ADVICE BY THE COURT 
CLERKS 

 
By law the clerks of the court 

cannot give out legal advice.  The clerks 
have been instructed to answer questions 
that you may have as to the process of 
completing forms necessary for the filing 
of your claims or collecting on your 
judgment.  The clerks are not in a position 
to advise you of the legal basis for your 
claims or what amount you should file a 
claim for.  There are other issues that may 
concern you such as service of process on 
the Defendant, the location or venue for 
this case, the authority of this court to hear 
your case, and other legal issues.  You 
should consult with an attorney or 
individual familiar with these issues and 
not the court clerks. 
 

PROPER PARTIES TO YOUR CLAIM 
 

The plaintiff must be 18 years of 
age or have a guardian ad litem appointed 
to be able to proceed with the case.  The 
Defendant must be 18 years of age or a 
guardian ad litem again must be appointed.  
If you are filing a claim against a person 
that works for a corporation you should 
list the corporation as a defendant and 
properly serve the corporation through 
their registered agent listed with the 

Secretary of State for Idaho.  Please 
consult an attorney. 
 
AMENDMENT OF YOUR AFFIDAVIT 

OF CLAIM 
 

You cannot amend your claim for a 
greater or higher amount of money unless 
you amend your affidavit of claim and 
serve the defendant with your amended 
claim (14) days prior to your hearing date.  
If you are uncertain about the amount of 
your claim you may want to claim an 
amount that is higher than what you are 
sure of and then amend the amount at the 
time of your hearing. 
 

DOMESTIC RELATIONS CASES 
 

You may have a post divorce debt 
that your former spouse owes you.  This 
may consist of child support, medical 
insurance premiums, medical bills and day 
care expenses for the children.  The most 
effective court for determining these issues 
is the divorce or domestic relations court 
that originally heard your case.  Not only 
can the divorce court award you a 
judgment for what you are owed but the 
court can also impose fines and jail to 
assist you in enforcing your judgment.  
Contact your Court Assistance Office for 
information and forms for this procedure. 

 
 
 



CLAIMS AGAINST CITIES, COUNTIES 
OR THE STATE OF IDAHO 

 
Claims against cities, counties, 

local units of government and the State of 
Idaho may require that a lawyer represent 
these entities of government.  Lawyers are 
not allowed to appear in Small Claims 
Court.  Also many claims against cities, 
counties and the state have a requirement 
that a Notice of Tort Claim be filed.  Thus 
Small Claims Court may not be the proper 
court for these types of cases.  Please 
consult an attorney. 
 
MULTIPLE CLAIMS BY A PLAINTIFF 

AGAINST A DEFENDANT 
 

The maximum that a plaintiff can 
recover from a defendant in Small Claims 
Court in Idaho is $5,000.00.  As a plaintiff 
you may have had several transactions 
with a defendant or defendants from which 
you are now claiming you are owed a debt.  
The law precludes you from “stacking” 
claims that exceed the $5,000.00 limit for 
small claims if the basis for the debt is 
from a common series of transactions.  
You may be required to file your action in 
the Magistrate Division or District Court 
to recover the full amount that you are 
claiming.  If you come to court and the 
court determines that the amounts that you 
are claiming involve a common series of 
transactions you can dismiss your case in 
court and re-file the case with the 
Magistrate Court or District Court or limit 

your recovery to $5,000.00.  Once you file 
a claim in Small Claims Court against a 
defendant, you may be prevented from 
filing a claim against that defendant on 
other legal issues.  You should consult 
with an attorney about all of your possible 
claims against a defendant. 
 

NEGLIGENCE OR MALPRACTICE 
CASES 

 
In Idaho a person can have a claim 

filed against them for negligence.  Many 
times auto accident claims, and claims 
against professionals (real estate agents, 
veterinarians, dentists, doctors, lawyers) 
involve questions of negligence.  If your 
case involves an auto accident you should 
be prepared to present evidence as to the 
time, date, location and cause or reason for 
the accident.  The court cannot consider 
the fact that a citation was issued to one 
party as evidence.  An accident report 
investigated by law enforcement can be of 
great assistance to the court. 
 

In malpractice cases against 
professionals the plaintiff must prove that 
the actions by the professional did not 
meet minimum local standards for the 
profession.  This may require either a 
statement or testimony from a person that 
establishes that the professional you have 
filed a claim against did not meet the 
minimum standards for the profession in 
the local area.  Malpractice actions can be 
complicated proceedings and you should 

consider consulting with an attorney on 
these issues. 
 

WRIT OF POSSESSION 
 

You can file an action to recover 
personal property with a value of 
$5,000.00 or less in Small Claims Court.  
There are certain legal requirements that 
must be in place before you can seek this 
remedy.  You must be the owner of the 
property and should bring with you to 
court any title, registration or bill of sale 
establishing you ownership.  The property 
should be identified by; serial number, 
model name or number, manufacturer, 
model year, color description and license 
plate (if any).  You must be able to give 
the address where the property is located 
and the name of the person(s) that has the 
property.  If you cannot meet these 
requirements you can still file a claim for 
the value of the property and obtain a 
judgment for that amount.  The value of 
property is the fair market value of the 
property and not replacement value. 

 
The Ada County Court Assistance 

Office provides this information as a 
public service.  It is not a substitute for 
legal advice.  The laws and court rules are 
complex.  It is always advisable to talk to 
a lawyer about your situation before filing 
your action. 
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