
MINOR’S 
GUARDIANSHIP 
INFORMATION 

Who may petition to be a 
guardian? 
 

 
 
 This information on 
guardianship of a minor is based on 
Idaho Code Sections 15-5-201 
through 15-5-212, which is the law in 
the state of Idaho.  There may be 
variations in the procedures of 
different court districts or counties.  
Check with your Court Clerk’s Office 
or your Court Assistance Office for 
local court rules. 
 
When can a guardianship be 
granted? 
 

A guardian may be appointed 
for an unmarried minor if all parental 
rights of custody have been 
terminated, the child is neglected, 
abused, abandoned, or when the 
parents are unable to provide a stable 
home environment. 
 
What is the proper court? 
 

A petition for guardianship 
should be filed with the magistrate 
court in the county where the minor 
lives. 

Any relative of the minor, the 
minor if he/she is over 14 years old, 
or any person interested in the 
welfare of the minor may petition for 
guardianship. 
 
What are the powers and 
responsibilities of a guardian? 
 

Guardians have the powers 
and responsibilities of a parent of a 
child except they are not legally 
obligated to provide for the minor 
from their own funds.  A guardian 
must take reasonable care of the 
minor’s personal effects.  A guardian 
may receive money for the support of 
the minor, but not as personal 
compensation, and may seek support 
from the parents of the minor.  A 
guardian must exercise due care to 
conserve funds for future use.  A 
guardian has the power to make 
decisions about the minor’s 
education, social and other activities, 
and to authorize medical or other 
professional care, treatment or 
advice.  A guardian must report to the 
court and any person as ordered by 
the court the condition of the minor 

and the minor’s estate which is under 
the guardian’s control. 
 
What if the case is contested? 
 

If at any time the case 
becomes contested, (when anyone 
objects to any part of the 
proceedings), whether the opposing 
party hires an attorney or not, you 
should consult an attorney. 

 
There are several reasons why 

you should consult an attorney: 
1. A contested case may quickly 

become very legally 
complicated. 

2. You will probably face an 
attorney representing the 
opposing party. 

3. You will be held to the same 
standard as an attorney on 
paperwork filed and legal 
knowledge of handling your 
case. 

4. Any lack of legal knowledge 
may be harmful to your case. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  



  

What is the court process to 
appoint a guardian of a minor? 
 

First, a petition and 
supporting documents must be filed 
with the magistrate court.  An Order 
appointing a Guardian ad Litem for 
the minor must also be prepared.   
The Guardian ad litem will represent 
the minor's interest in the 
guardianship case.    

 
Second, notice of the time and 

place of the hearing must be given to 
the minor (if over 14 years old), the 
Guardian ad litem for the minor, the 
person having principal care and 
custody of the minor for the last 60 
days, and any living parent of the 
minor.  If the parents do not consent 
or give up the right to be guardian, 
they must be personally served with a 
copy of the petition and notice of 
hearing.  If the parents do not 
consent, you should consult an 
attorney.   

 
Third, if all legal requirements 

have been satisfied, and it is in the 
best interest of the minor, the court 
shall appoint the guardian. 

 
 

 

How can a guardianship end? 
 

A guardian’s responsibility 
ends upon the death, removal or 
resignation of the guardian or the 
minor’s death, adoption, marriage or 
upon turning 18 years old.  A 
guardian may petition the court for 
permission to resign, which may be 
granted after proper notice and 
hearing is held.  Resignation of a 
guardian is not effective until 
approval from the court has been 
given. 

 
Where can I get assistance with this 
type of case? 
 

You can seek assistance from 
the following resources: 
 

The Idaho Volunteer Lawyers 
Program offers volunteer attorney 
representation without charge if you 
qualify for the program.  Their phone 
number is (208) 334-4510 or 1-800-
221-3295. 

 
The state law library has a 

probate and guardianship formbook.  
This book was designed as a guide 
for attorneys to develop their own 
forms and may require extensive 
revision for your circumstances.  The 

phone number for the law library is 
(208) 334-3316. 

 
Legal form shops may have 

packets of forms available for sale.  
These forms are not guaranteed to be 
adequate or acceptable in all court 
districts.  Form shops are listed in the 
yellow pages under “legal forms” 

 
Your local Court Assistance 

Office has forms available for 
guardianship of a minor.  These 
forms are appropriate only when both 
parents consent to the guardianship.  
You can locate your nearest office by 
going to the Court Assistance Offices 
Project website: www.state.id.us/cao. 

   

http://www.state.id.us/cao

