Execution & Garnishment of Judgments:

Protecting Exempt Wages, Property & Benefits from Creditors
Read this handout to understand:  

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


 Can they garnish my wages? 

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


 Can they take my home? 

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


 Can they take my benefits?  
 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


 How can I protect my rights?

If a creditor sues you over a debt and gets a judgment (a court order), they must follow a legal process to get payment from you.  Some of your wages, benefits or property may be protected (exempt) from collection.  However, to claim exemptions, you must follow a legal process too.  This handout will help you understand how to claim exemptions. 
The advice in this handout is very general and there might be special factors in your case.  If you have legal questions, contact an attorney.  If you cannot afford an attorney, contact the Idaho Legal Aid Services office nearest you using one of the phone numbers on the back of this handout.  Also, visit us on the web at:

www.idaholegalaid.org
Can creditors garnish my WAGES?

Yes, but only within certain limits.  A creditor can require your employer to garnish part of your wages to pay a judgment, but the creditor can take only EITHER:  
25% of your “disposable earnings”

(your pay remaining after only those withholdings required by law are taken out).

OR

the part of your wages that exceeds

30 times the current Federal minimum wage ($7.25 per hour as of 2011; see chart below)
...whichever figure lets you keep more.
See Idaho Code (I.C.) Section 11-206 and 207
and 29 U.S. Code Section 206(a)(1).

Exemptions based upon $7.25 min wage:
	If your paycheck is

paid weekly...
	...the amount 

garnished will be
	If your paycheck is

paid semi-monthly...
	...the amount 

garnished will be

	less than $217.50 
	NONE
	less than $471.25
	NONE

	$217.50 - $290
	Amount above $217.50
	$471.25 - $628.34
	Amount above $471.25

	$290 or more
	Up to 25%
	$628.34 or more
	Up to 25%

	If your paycheck is

paid bi-weekly...
	...the amount 

garnished will be
	If your paycheck is

paid monthly
	...the amount 

garnished will be

	less than $435 
	NONE
	less than $942.50 
	NONE

	$435 - $580
	Amount above $435
	$942.50 - $1256.67
	Amount above $942.50

	$580 or more
	Up to 25%
	$1256.67 or more
	Up to 25%


 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  Up to $1500 per year in earned, but un-paid, wages, cannot be garnished. I.C. 11-605(12) 
 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  Also, you cannot be fired just for having wages garnished.  See I.C.  28-45-105. 

 Can a creditor take my HOME?

Idaho’s homestead exemption can prevent the forced sale of your house or mobile home.  

WARNING! this exemption only applies to unsecured debts, not to foreclosures!
It protects the house and land’s net value up to $100,000 (“net value” is the property’s market value minus all liens and mortgages). 

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  The law protects the house where you reside or intend to reside, plus surrounding land and related structures like barns or sheds.  

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  Manufactured homes are protected, whether or not you own the lot.  

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  Unimproved land is protected if you intend to live on it, build your primary house on it or put your mobile home on it. 

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  If you sell your home, the proceeds are exempt for up to one year if you are going to use them to buy another home.  

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  Insurance proceeds paid to cover damage to a homestead are also protected.

See I.C. 55-1001,1003
What do I have to do to claim the homestead exemption?  
 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  Generally, your primary residence is automatically protected and you do not have to act to protect your home. However, be aware of some important exceptions: 
 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  If you are absent from a property for six months, it will be presumed to be abandoned.  If you know that you will not be at your home for six months or more, you should file a Declaration of Non-abandonment* with the county recorder to preserve the property as your homestead.  

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  If you do not yet live in the home or on the land that you want to protect, you must file a Declaration of Homestead.*  Also, if you own other property in which you do reside or have claimed a homestead in the past, you must file a Declaration of Abandonment* of that property so the creditors know which home or land you plan to protect as your homestead.

See I.C. 55-1004

WARNING!  The homestead 

exemption does NOT exempt:
 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  Debts secured by a mechanic’s, laborer’s, or vendor’s lien upon the homestead.

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  Property that receives a lien or judgment against it before it qualifies as your homestead.

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


  Debts secured on your homestead such as Deeds of Trust, Mortgages, etc. or debts secured on property before it qualifies as your homestead. 

See I.C. 55-1005

 Can a creditor take my 

GOVERNMENT BENEFITS?

Government entitlements, like Social Security, Veterans, and public assistance benefits are generally exempt from garnishment but CAN be garnished for child or spousal support orders. IMPORTANT!  Keep these exempt benefits in a separate bank account so you can prove which funds are exempt.  If exempt funds (like Social Security) are mixed with unprotected funds (like wages), you may lose the exemption!  

 What happens after a 

judgment is issued against me?  

To collect on a judgment a creditor must get a “Writ of Execution” which directs the Sheriff to seize a debtor’s money, property, or real estate.  Usually, the creditor must collect within five years of the judgment or forfeit their award.  However, they may renew the judgment for additional five year periods in some cases. 

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


 When the creditor wants to take your assets or income to pay a debt, the sheriff or the bank will serve or mail you copies of the Writ of Execution, a Notice of Garnishment, or a Notice if Property or Money has been seized, an Exemption List, the instructions for asserting a claim of exemption and the Claim of Exemption Form itself.  
The Sheriff should provide Spanish translations of the notice and instructions if you need them.

Show a creditor that your funds are exempt from collection with the 
Claim of Exemption Form.    

Fill out the Form and deliver it to the Sheriff’s office within 14 days of the service/delivery of the notice that property or money has been seized.  If 14 days have already passed, you should fill out the Claim of Exemption Form anyway and deliver it to the sheriff.  You may have to go to the court for help to recover exempt property or money after 14 days have passed.  

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


After you deliver the complete Claim of Exemption Form, the Sheriff has one business day to give a copy to the creditor.  The creditor can accept or contest your Claim of Exemption.  

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


To contest your Claim, the creditor must file a motion to the court within five days.  The court will then schedule a hearing to determine if your Claim is valid.  You will receive a copy of the creditor’s motion, and notice of the hearing date and time.  You must attend the hearing and testify or provide evidence that the property or money is exempt.  If the creditor contests your Claim of Exemption, talk to an attorney immediately.  
 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


If the creditor accepts your claim, or if they don’t file a motion to contest it within five days, the Sheriff will return the seized exempt money or property to you.  You should not be responsible for any collection costs.  

 SHAPE  \* MERGEFORMAT 


WARNING!  If you file a Claim of Exemption without reasonable basis and the creditor contests it, you may have to pay the creditor’s attorney fees and court costs.   Likewise, if the creditor files a frivolous motion to contest your Claim and loses at court, the creditor may have to pay your attorney fees and costs.  

Exemptions & their Statutory Basis
	Type of Exempt Money / Property
	Idaho or US Statutes

	Alimony, Support, Maintenance* (Money or Personal Property) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . .. . .. .I.C. 11-604(1)(b)

	Appliance                              See Personal Property

	Annuity Contract Payments . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .I.C. 41-1836

	Bodily Injury & Wrongful Death of Spouse Awards* (except pain and suffering awards) . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . .. . . .  I.C. 11-604(1)(c)

	Books (Professional) up to $2500 . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .I.C. 11-605(3)

	Burial Plots . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . .  I.C. 11-603(1)

	Child Support Payments* . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . .  I.C. 11-604(1)(b)

	Disability or Illness Benefits* . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . ... .  I.C. 11-604(1)(a)

	Food & Water (one year’s worth, for an individual and dependents, including shelving and containers).. .. . . . . . . . . . . .. I.C. 11-604(4)

	Firearm (1) up to $750 value . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ... .  . . I.C. 11-605(8)

	Furnishings (Household)     See Personal Property

	Health Aids . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . .  I.C. 11-603(2)

	Homestead (House, Manufactured Home, Related Structures) . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . .  I.C. 55-1001 and following sections

	Jewelry up to $1000 value (Wedding rings, watches, etc.) † . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . .I.C. 11-605(2)

	Life Insurance Benefits

Payable to Spouse/Dependent* . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  I.C. 11-604(1)(d)

LIfe insurance proceeds . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . .  . . .  I.C. 41-1833

Group Insurance benefits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . .. . .  I.C. 41-1835

Supplemental Disability Benefits . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . .  .   I.C. 41-1834
Unmatured Contract . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . I.C. 11-605(9)

Unmatured Interest up to $5000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . .. . . . .. . . I.C. 11-605(10)

	Medical or Hospital Benefits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . .. . .  I.C. 11-603(5)

	Medical Savings Accounts  . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . I.C. 11-603(5)

	Military Benefits 

Retirement Benefits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . .  . . . .. . . . . 10 U.S.C. 1440

Survivors’ Benefits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 U.S.C. 1450

	Motor Vehicle (1) up to $700 (car, truck, motorcycle) † . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . .. .I.C. 11-605(3)

	Pensions (annuities, retirement/ disability/death benefits and allowances and similar rights under employee benefit plans. I.C. 11-604A

	Personal Property up to $7500 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . .I.C. 11-605(1)(a)-(c)

Appliances - washers, dryers, refrigerators

Furnishings - sofas, beds, tables; musical instruments; books; clothes; pets; family portraits and heirlooms.  
No single item worth over $750. †

	Other Property (misc.). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . .. . . . . . I.C. 11-605(11)
$800 in personal property is exempt. † 

Example:  if a single debtor owns a $7800 car, she can use the $7000 motor vehicle exemption + $800 Other Property exemption to protect the car in full

	Public Assistance . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . .  . . . . . . . I.C. 11-603(4)
TAFI - Temporary Assistance to Families in Idaho

AABD - Aid to Aged, Blind & Disabled

County Assistance Payments

	Public Employees Benefits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . I.C. 59-1317
Federal, state, local government retirement benefits

	Retirement Benefits, Pension Funds, Social Security Retirement, SSDI, SSI, IRAs and 401k accounts

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . I.C. 11-603(3) & 48 U.S.C. 1383(d)

	Tax Credits: Federal Earned Income. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . .. .  . . . I.C. 11-603(4)

	Tools of Trade
Professional Books, business equipment & Implements up to $2500.  A computer used for employment may be an exempt 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . .. . . . . . . I.C. 11-605(3)

	Unemployment Benefits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . .  . . . . . . I.C. 11-603(6)

	Veterans Benefits and Insurance
 . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . I.C. 11-603(3) & 38 U.S.C. 5301

	Wages or Salary (See chart on other side). . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . I.C. 11-207 & 15 U.S.C. 1673(a)

Plus, up to $1500 per year in earned, but unpaid wages . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . I.C. 11-604(12)

	Worker’s Compensation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ... . . I.C. 72-802

	* IF reasonably necessary for family support AND IF not commingled with other funds.

	† The exemption limit can be doubled for a married couple if both persons are liable for the same debt.

	Idaho Code (I.C.) sections can be found online at:  http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/TOC/ IDStatutesTOC.htm




Idaho Legal Aid Services

	Local Offices

	Boise
	310   N. 5th St.
	345-0106

	Caldwell
	1104   Blaine St.
	454-2591

	Coeur d’Alene
	410   Sherman Ave.,   #303
	667-9559

	Idaho Falls
	482   Constitutional Way,   #101
	524-3660

	Lewiston
	633   Main St.,   #103
	743-1556

	Pocatello
	150   S. Arthur.,   #203
	233-0079

	Twin Falls
	475   Polk St.,   #4
	734-7024


	Idaho Senior Legal Hotline
	1-866-345-0106     (en español  1-866-954-2591)

	Idaho Domestic Violence Legal Hotline
	1-877-500-2980

	TTY (Deaf and Hearing Impaired)
	1-800-245-7573

	Idaho Rental Assistance & Properties
	1-877-428-8844     www.housingidaho.com

	Visit www.idaholegalaid.org
to find more free forms and information about debt & collections issues.


Revised  5/11



























































































*All of these Declarations should be filed with the County Recorder in the county where the land is located.






























































