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CAO FL INSTRUCTION 2 
QUESTIONS & ANSWERS ABOUT CHILD SUPPORT IN IDAHO 

 
This information is not a substitute for legal advice.  Laws and court rules are complex, and this 
general information does not advise you of rights and options specific to your case.    We 
always recommend you talk to a lawyer about your questions.  Even if you do not hire a lawyer 
to represent you, a lawyer can look over your paperwork and give you legal advice.  The Idaho 
State Bar Lawyer Referral Service (208-334-4500) can give you the name of an attorney in your 
area who will provide a one-half hour consultation for $35.  There are limited free legal services 
available to low income people.  Contact the Court Assistance Office for information about 
resources for low income people, or visit the Idaho Supreme Court’s Self-Help Center at 
http://www.courtselfhelp.idaho.gov/.  
 
 
How is a child support amount determined in Idaho? 
 
In Idaho, child support is set according to the Idaho Child Support Guidelines (ICSG).  You can 
find the Guidelines in Rule 126 of the Idaho Rules of Family Law Procedure.  A complete copy 
is available online at http://www.isc.idaho.gov/irflp. You can also get a copy from a Court 
Assistance Office.   
 
 
Do the Guidelines apply in my case? 
 
The Idaho Child Support Guidelines apply 
to court cases that involve the care and 
support of minor children.  The Guidelines 
are used in divorces, custody cases and 
modifications of custody, divorce, or child 
support orders.   
 
Section (B) of the Guidelines explains: 
“The Guidelines apply to determinations of 
child support obligations between parents 
in all judicial proceedings that address the 
issue of child support for children under the 
age of eighteen years or children pursuing 
high school education up to the age of 
nineteen years.”  
 
What is the purpose of the Guidelines? 
 
The Guidelines provide a way to calculate 
child support so that a minor child is 
supported based on the income of both 
parents. The Guidelines state principles 
(see box) that are supposed to guide 
parents, lawyers and courts. 

Section (D) Basic Guideline Principles.   
 
These Child Support Guidelines are premised upon the 
following basic principles to guide parents, lawyers, and 
courts in arriving at child support obligations:   
 

1. Both parents share legal responsibility for supporting 
their child. That legal responsibility should be divided 
in proportion to their Guidelines Income, whether 
they be separated, divorced, remarried, or never 
married.   

2. In any proceeding where child support is under 
consideration, child support shall be given priority 
over the needs of the parents or creditors in 
allocating family resources. Only after careful scrutiny 
should the court delay implementation of the 
Guidelines amount because of debt assumption.   

3. Support shall be determined without regard to the 
gender of the custodial parent.   

4. Rarely should the child support obligation be set at 
zero. If the monthly income of the paying parent is 
below $800.00, the Court should carefully review the 
incomes and living expenses to determine the 
maximum amount of support that can reasonably be 
ordered without denying a parent the means for self-
support at a minimum subsistence level. There shall 
be a rebuttable presumption that a minimum amount 
of support is at least $50.00 per month per child.  

 
Source: I.R.F.L.P. Rule 126(D). Child Support Guidelines, 
adopted by the Supreme Court pursuant to Section 32-706, Idaho 
Code 

http://www.courtselfhelp.idaho.gov/
http://www.isc.idaho.gov/irflp
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What if we agree on an amount, or we agree that no one will pay support? 
 
If a party asks the court to order a child support amount that is different from the Guidelines 
amount, the party must provide evidence that shows why the Guidelines amount is not 
appropriate.  The judge must make a specific finding that ordering an amount different from the 
Guidelines is acceptable in your case.  If you want to ask for a child support amount different 
from the Guidelines amount, be sure to read Section (C) of the ICSG.  There are no standard 
forms that address deviation from the Guidelines. 
 
Even if you want to deviate from the Guidelines, you still complete all of the child support 
documents.  Section I of the Guidelines states “In all cases (contested, uncontested, or 
stipulated), the Affidavit Verifying Income and the Child Support Worksheet shall be provided to 
the court by the plaintiff or moving party.”   
 
If you need information about how the Guidelines and the laws apply to your case, and you want 
help deciding what to do, you should talk to an attorney. 
 
 
I don’t understand the forms for figuring out child support.  Which child support 
worksheet should I use? 
 
There are three standard child support forms that may be filed with the court.  Everyone must 
file an Affidavit Verifying Income.  In addition, to calculate Child Support according to the 
Guidelines, a party files either a Standard Child Support Worksheet or a Shared, Split, Mixed 
Custody Worksheet.  You do not need to use both.    A basic description of the forms follows: 
 
Affidavit Verifying Income—This document is filed with the court.  It is a sworn statement that 
must be signed by one of the parties.  It is used to inform the court of both parents’ income for 
the purposes of determining child support.  If you have questions about what types of income 
count, and what adjustments are allowed, read Sections (F) and (G) the Guidelines.   
 
Standard Child Support Worksheet—The Standard Child Support Worksheet may be used if all 
the children are living with the same parent.  In addition, the Standard Worksheet is appropriate 
when child/ren do not spend more than 25% of the overnights with both parents. 
 
Shared, Split, or Mixed Custody Worksheet—The Shared, Split, Mixed Custody Worksheet may 
be used when each parent will have at least one child living in the home (split), or when the 
child/ren spend more than 25% of the overnights with each parent (shared).   The form is also 
used if the parents are proposing different custody arrangements for each child (mixed). 
 
What if I don’t know the other parent’s income? 

The Affidavit Verifying Income is a sworn statement that includes the income of both parents.  
The amount you state in the Affidavit may be based on current, actual income, or your 
knowledge of annual income reported in the past, or “potential income”.  Potential income is 
explained in Section (F)(3) of the Idaho Child Support Guidelines.   
 
If you have absolutely no idea what the other parent’s income may be you can contact the local 
job service office to find out the prevailing wage for the other parent’s job and use that 
information.  Add an asterisk (*) and an explanation of the source of the information. 
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Do the Guidelines take into consideration the Child Support I am already paying for 
another child?   
 
Section (G) of the Idaho Child Support Guidelines explains adjustments allowed to gross 
income.  Examples of commonly used adjustments include an adjustment for child support paid 
and an adjustment for support of children of another relationship who live with one of the 
parents.   
 
However, the Guidelines state that any children who were born or adopted after the existing 
order will not be considered. 
 
 
Does the child support payment have to go through the state? 
 
Yes.  Child support payments are made to Child Support Receipting of the Department of 
Health and Welfare. In addition, the forms provide notice that the court orders income 
withholding in all Child Support Orders.  Income withholding may be enforced by a Withholding 
Order issued to the paying parent’s employer without additional notice to the parent.  Because 
the Department has authority to maintain an accurate record of payments and to enforce child 
support orders, the Department’s services benefit both parties. 
 
 
How do I ask for a change in the amount of child support that is ordered? 
 
To ask for a change in the amount of support ordered, one of the parties must file for a 
modification.  If the child support order or decree was entered in Idaho, there are two helpful 
instructions, Filing for Modification and Agreed Modification, available on the website at 
http://www.courtselfhelp.idaho.gov/ or at Court Assistance Offices.   
 
If my order or decree is from another state, how do I get it changed? 
 
If the support order was entered in another state, you usually need to file a motion to modify in 
that state.  Many states have court self-help resources and forms.  For online resources from 
other states, see http://www.ajs.org/prose/pro_links.asp.  The Federal Administration for 
Children and Families has helpful information at http://www.acf.hhs.gov.  You may also call the 
court or county where the order was entered to find out what self-help resources are available.   
 
I am not getting to see my child; do I still have to pay child support? 
 
A child support obligation is a separate legal matter from an order for custody or visitation.  If 
you have been ordered by a court to pay child support, you must pay that support regardless of 
whether you have visitation with the child.  However, if you have an order or decree that 
provided a custody or visitation schedule, you may have options to enforce the order in court.  
 
If only a child support order has been entered, and a court has never entered an order regarding 
custody or visitation, you may ask the court for an order that addresses visitation and custody.  
You may find help from the Court Assistance Office instruction Filing for Custody, Visitation or 
Support . 
 
 

http://www.courtselfhelp.idaho.gov/
http://www.ajs.org/prose/pro_links.asp
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/

