ADDITIONAL TAX RELIEF
OPTIONS

The Property Tax Deferral program
offers certain qualified individuals a way
to defer property taxes on their home
and up to one acre of land. A qualified
applicant may qualify separately for this
program or use this program along with
the Property Tax Reduction Program to
provide additional property tax
assistance. Deferred taxes and interest
must be repaid to the state of Idaho
when ownership of the property
changes or the property no longer
qualifies for the Homeowner's
Exemption. Contact your county
assessor for additional program
information and application materials.

This publication does not provide full
explanation of Idaho tax laws or rules.
For more information, contact:

e Your county assessor

e |daho State Tax Commission:
334-7736 in the Boise area or
toll-free at (800) 334-7756, ext.2

e Hearing impaired:
TDD (800) 377-3529

e tax.idaho.gov

Idaho laws passed after January 1, 2016, are
not reflected in this publication.

Costs associated with this publication are

available from the Tax Commission in
accordance with Idaho Code section 60-202.
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WHAT IS THE PROPERTY
TAX REDUCTION
PROGRAM?

The Property Tax Reduction (Circuit
Breaker) program reduces property
taxes* for qualified applicants. The
amount of reduction is based on
income for the previous calendar
year.

If you qualify, the property taxes on
your home, and up to one acre of
land, may be reduced by as much
as $1,320.

* Property tax reduction benefits will
not reduce solid waste, irrigation, or
other fees charged by government
entities.

WHO QUALIFIES?

You may qualify for property tax
reduction in 2016 if you:

1.

Owned and lived in a home or
mobile home in Idaho that was
your primary residence before
April 15, 2016 (You may qualify if
you lived in a care facility or
nursing home. Contact your
county assessor for information.),
and

Had income of $29,470 or less for
2015, and

Met one or more of the following
status requirements as of January
1, 2016:

Age 65 or older

Widow(er)

Blind

Fatherless or motherless child

under 18 years of age

e Former prisoner of
war/hostage

e Veteran with a 10% or more
service-connected disability or
receiving a pension from
Veterans Affairs (VA) for a
non-service-connected
disability

e Disabled as recognized by the

Social Security Administration,

Railroad Retirement Board, or

Federal Civil Service. If you're

not covered by the listed

agencies, then disabled as

recognized by a public

employee retirement system.



HOW TO APPLY

1. Contact your county assessor for
application materials. The office
is listed under County Offices in
your telephone directory.

2. Complete an application. The
assessor’s office can help you.

When you file your application, you
must provide proof of:

e Income

e Medical expenses

e The requirement(s) you meet
(age 65 or older, blind, VA
disability etc.)

e Ownership, if property is owned
by a trust or limited liability
corporation (LLC)

3. File the application with your
assessor’s office by April 15. If
you don’t have all of your income
information, fill out as much of the
application as you can, and file it by
the April 15 deadline.

You must apply for your 2016 property
tax reduction between January 1, and
April 15, 2016. You must apply and

qualify each year to receive this benefit.

Property tax reductions are not
renewed automatically.

If your application is approved, your
property tax reduction will appear on
your December 2016 tax bill.

DOCUMENTATION OF
INCOME

Provide the following documents to
the assessor’s office to show your
2015 income and expenses.

If You File a Tax Return:

e A copy of your federal income
tax return

e Documents showing income not
reported on your tax return,
including nontaxable income

e Federal Schedule A or a
completed medical expense form
and proof of payment for non-
reimbursed medical expenses

e Proof of payment or prepayment
of funeral expenses

f You Don't File a Tax Return:

e Social Security/Railroad
Retirement or other 1099 forms

o W-2s

e Any other documents showing
taxable or nontaxable income
from all sources

e A completed medical expense
form and proof of payment for
non-reimbursed medical
expenses

e Proof of payment or prepayment
of funeral expenses

Attach copies of applicable
documents to your application.

INCOME GUIDELINES

When you complete your application,
you must include income reported to
you and your spouse in 2015.

You must include:

Wages

Interest and dividends

Capital gains

Business, farm, and rental net
income

Social Security and Supplemental
Social Security income

Railroad retirement
Unemployment/workers comp
Pensions, annuities, and IRA’s*
Military retirement benefits
Department of Health and Welfare
payments (including Aid for
Dependent Children and housing
assistance)

Child support and alimony

“Loss of earnings” compensation
Disability income from all sources**
Gambling winnings

* Excluding the return of principal paid by
the recipient of an annuity and excluding
rollovers as provided in section 402 and
403 of the Internal Revenue Code.

** Excluding compensation received from
the VA by a veteran who has a 40-100%
service-connected disability, dependency
and indemnity compensation, or death
benefits paid by Veterans Affairs arising
from a service-connected death or
disability.

When you complete your
application, you may deduct the
following expenses you or your
spouse paid in 2015:

e Medical/dental and related
expenses not reimbursed by
insurance or other
reimbursement*

¢ Medical insurance premiums*

e Payment or prepayment of
funeral expenses

e Farm, rental, and/or business
losses (You must submit a
copy of the appropriate federal
schedule.)

e Early withdrawal penalties

e Alimony paid

* Qualified medical expenses are
defined in section 213(d) of the
Internal Revenue Code.



