
 

 

 
2015 Property Tax Deferral program 

Apply between January 1 and April 15, 2015 

 

What is the Property Tax Deferral Program? 
The Property Tax Deferral Program offers individuals a way to defer property taxes on their home and up to one 

acre of land.  The taxes and interest must eventually be repaid to the state of Idaho.   

 

 

Qualifications 
You qualify for property tax deferral if you meet the following requirements: 

1. Owned and lived in a home or mobile home in Idaho that was your primary residence before April 15, 2015, 

and it: 

•   Isn’t subject to a trust, life estate, or other interest  

 •   Doesn’t have a reverse mortgage or home equity line of credit 

2. Met one or more of the following status requirements as of January 1, 2015 

  •   Age 65 or older 

• Widow(er) 

• Blind 

• Fatherless or motherless child under 18 years of age 

• Former prisoner of war/hostage 

• Veteran with a 10% or more service connected disability or receiving a pension from Veteran’s Affairs 

(VA) for a non-service connected disability 

• Disabled as recognized by the Social Security Administration, Railroad Retirement Board, or Federal 

Civil Service.  

3. Had combined income of $42,770 or less for 2014.   

 When you complete your application, include income reported to you and your spouse in 2014. 

 You must include: 

 

• Wages 

• Interest and dividends 

• Capital gains 

• Business, farm, and rental net income 

• Social Security and Supplemental Security Income 
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• Railroad retirement 

• Unemployment/workers comp 

• Pensions, annuities, and IRAs* 

• Military retirement benefits 

• Department of Health and Welfare payments (including Aid for Dependent Children and housing 

assistance) 

• Child support and alimony 

• “Loss of earnings” compensation 

• Disability income from all sources** 

• Gambling winnings 

 

*Excluding the return of principal paid by the recipient of an annuity and excluding rollovers as provided in 

section 403 and 403 of the Internal Revenue Code. 

 

**Excluding compensation received from the VA by a veteran who has a 40-100% service-connected disability or 

dependency and indemnity compensation or death benefits paid by Veterans Affairs arising from a service-

connected death or disability. 

 

When you complete your application, you may deduct the following expenses you or your spouse paid in 2014: 

  

 •   Medical/dental and related expenses not reimbursed by insurance or other reimbursements* 

 •   Medical insurance premiums* 

 •   Payment or prepayment of funeral expenses 

 •   Farm, rental and/or business losses (You must submit a copy of the appropriate federal schedule.) 

 •   Early withdrawal penalties 

 •   Alimony paid 

 

*Qualified medical expenses are defined in section 213(d) of the Internal Revenue Code. 

 
 
How to Apply 

1. Contact your county assessor for an application.  The office is listed under County Offices in your 

telephone directory. 

2. Complete the application.  If you need help completing the application, the assessor’s staff will assist you.  

You must apply for your 2015 property tax deferral between January 1 and April 15, 2015.  You and your 

spouse must sign the application, and these signatures must be notarized. 

3. Attach the following to your application: 

•  A copy of the recorded deed, title, or contract for purchase of this property, including a legal description. 

•  A copy of your application for property tax reduction for the current year. 

•  A statement of the current assessed value for the eligible portion of the property.  (You can get this from 

   your county assessor.) 

•  A copy of your fire and casualty insurance policy. 

 

 

 

 

Page 2 of 3 EBR00067_09-30-2014



 

 

You must apply and qualify each year to receive a property tax deferral.  Property tax deferrals are not renewed 
automatically. 

If your application is approved, your property tax deferral will be applied to your December 2015 tax bill. 

 

Repaying Deferred Taxes 
Deferred property taxes and interest become a lien on your property.  You must repay the amount of the deferral 

and interest if: 

 

•   The property, or any part of it, is sold or the title is transferred. 

•   The qualified claimant, or the last surviving claimant, dies. 

•   The property no longer qualifies for the Homeowner’s Exemption. 

•   The Idaho State Tax Commission determines that the property tax deferral was granted to a person 

     who isn’t a qualified claimant or was granted for property that doesn’t qualify. 

 

 

Insurance Requirements 
Your fire and casualty insurance policy must show the Tax Commission as a loss payee, and you must provide the Tax 

Commission with a copy of this policy. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
                      

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

            

For more information, contact: 

• Your county assessor 

• Idaho State Tax Commission: In the Boise area, 334-7736 

•    Toll free:  (800) 334-7756   

• Hearing impaired: TDD (800) 377-3529 

• tax.idaho.gov 

 

This information was prepared by the Idaho State Tax Commission. It does not provide comprehensive 

explanations of Idaho tax laws or rules. Specific questions should be addressed to the Tax Commission. 

Idaho laws passed after January1, 2015 are not reflected in the publication. 
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